Latest News & Events

2021 Teacher Scholarships

2021 PIE Teacher Tuition Reimbursement Scholarship Closed

Griffin-Spalding Partners in Education is governed by a Board of Directors that is made up of eighteen people, nine of whom are appointed by the Griffin-Spalding Board of Education and eight of whom are appointed by the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. Each appointee serves a three-year term.


Qualifications for a Griffin-Spalding Partner in Education board member include:

  • expertise in resource development, program development, and/or evaluation, finance, personnel or public relations
  • ability to provide input to the organization on community or educational issues that affect the accomplishment of goals and objectives; and
  • a willingness to carry out duties within an area of special talent and competency.


Each board member:

  • Is responsible for attending bi-monthly board meetings as scheduled.
  • Serves as an active member of a committee.
  • Participates in fund-raising activities.


Board members are responsible for:

  • formulating policy,
  • setting goals and objectives,
  • maintaining a sound financial base,
  • reviewing plans,
  • making authorizations,
  • selecting leadership, and
  • evaluating the work of the organization.



Lynn Akin
Spalding High School

Lottie Harris
Jackson Road Elementary

BJ Crossley
Mainstay Academy

Dr. Alvetta Thomas
Southern Crescent Technical College

Stephanie Windham
Beck Owen and Murray

Bob Dull
Griffin Housing Authority

Harvey Booker
Bell South

Robin Shepherd
Griffin-Spalding County School System

Jim Smith
Griffin Housing Authority

Evan Stitt

Corey Letson
Georgia Wealth Partners

Suzanne McEwen
First National Bank

Teddy Blalock
Marukan Vinegar

Katy Castanien
Griffin Region College & Career Academy

Craig A. Ogletree
Georgia Power


Staff and Ex-Officio

Kimberly Willis Green
Griffin-Spalding County School System

Laura Beaber
Griffin-Spalding County School System

Cindy Jones
Griffin Spalding Chamber of Commerce

Melissa Gordon (Chamber Designee)
UGA Griffin Campus